Shyness is Ruining Me

A painting called Left Out that has been in my room ever since I can remember. So often I felt like her looking behind a hole in the wall, wanting to join in the fun with others yet too scared to.

I have decided to start a new series on my blog in addition to other posts. I came across a book called Emergency Prayers by Deborah Smith Pegues. The book is basically a bunch of prayers on various issues we might have in our times of need. The prayers are all based on scripture. I agree with the author that we can not go wrong by praying God’s Word. When we do know how to pray we can go to God’s Word for direction. The Lord Jesus Christ, often used scripture while praying. I would like to put up one of this prayers every week. These are not my own words, but that of Deborah Pegues. I hope they will encourage many of you as well. The first one is more so, for my self. I have always been a very shy individual. It hurts me that I so often distance myself from others. This can not seem to be very loving! I was very encouraged by this prayer and plan to use it over and over, when I find myself wanting to slip into hermit-like actions. Many of you may be very outgoing and feel this prayer does not apply to you. So many of us though may love to talk, but unable to speak at the right moment. I hope this might encourage you to let go of fear and speak the truth, in love!

“Shyness is Ruining my Life”

Father, I am tired of sitting on the social sidelines of life watching other people get to know each other and develop mutually beneficial relationships. I find myself wanting to engage others in conversation, but I can’t think of anything to say. There have been times when I knew I had meaningful and helpful information to share, but I kept quiet. I am plagued with the fear of making a fool of myself, appearing unintelligent, or receiving a negative response from others. Lord, Your Word declares that You are my light and my salvation. Whom shall I fear. You, are the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid? (Psalms 27:1). I want to start now to cast down negative imaginations and everything that rises up against what I know about You and bring every thought into obedience of Christ (2 Corinthians 10:5).

Lord, I know you have not given me a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love and of self-discipline (2 Timothy 1:7). I realize that if I allow shyness to me prisoner to things I want to do and say, I will never be the effective and assertive leader You have already equipped me to be. Therefore, I claim the promise You made to a fearful Moses – to be with his mouth and teach him what to say (Exodus 4:12). In the name of Jesus, I pray. Amen.

Pegues, Deborah Smith. Emergency Prayers: [God’s Help in Your Time of Need]. Eugene, OR: Harvest House Pub., 2008.

Psalms 27:1

The Lord is my light and my salvation — whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the stronghold of my life— of whom shall I be afraid?

 2 Corinthians 10:5

5 We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.

 2 Timothy 1:7

7 For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline.

 Exodus 4:10-12

10 Moses said to the Lord, “Pardon your servant, Lord. I have never been eloquent, neither in the past nor since you have spoken to your servant. I am slow of speech and tongue.”

11 The Lord said to him, “Who gave human beings their mouths? Who makes them deaf or mute? Who gives them sight or makes them blind? Is it not I, the Lord? 12 Now go; I will help you speak and will teach you what to say.”

I think “Word of God Speak” by Mercy Me fits  this post pretty well. Diclaimer. This is not my video. Thank you to the musicians who sang it and to the fan who posted it.

About Armed with Truth

Hello! My name is Kat. I currently teach English as a foreign language in China. I decided to leave my job in law enforcement about six months a go to pursue a career in teaching. I just finished a bachelors degree in criminal justice. I have also finished four semesters at Liberty University in my Masters of Human Services. I am hoping to work with humanitarian work/missions in Asia as soon as I pay off my loans. I also have dreams of being a children's book author, someday.
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Shyness is Ruining Me

  1. You sound like a well meaning, romantic and idealistic person. Can I give you some advice. Be honest with yourself.

  2. vanethandjesus says:

    Reblogged this on vanethandjesus.

  3. You sound a lot like I was at your age…shy didn’t even describe me. As I’ve grown older, I’m now 52, I’ve found that if you engage the person in conversation about themselves, it will start to flow naturally. Don’t be afraid to speak first. Perhaps that person is also shy 🙂
    And I just noticed how old this post is lol. I hope you’ve overcome your shyness. By looking at your blog, you seem to have found your voice online 🙂

    • I have not really overcome my shyness. My blog is just my voice to say the things I have trouble saying in person. It seems to have gotten worse now that I am at college. It was better for a while, but then I was at home unemployed for several months last year and now I feel I have to start all over again. I admit I have an antisocial personality. Some have even told me they thought I have aspergers syndrome, because when I do say things they are sometimes blunt and unfeeling. Thanks for the encouragement Sharon. I am working on my shyness a lot through one of classes right now, which is Interpersonal Communications. It is an evergoing battle. 🙂 I seem to go through seasons of life where it is better depending on the type of people in my life.

Leave a Reply

