Graduation Reception

I was regretting my decision not to walk across the stage at graduation this month, but my church family really made me feel special at the graduation reception this past weekend. It was much more memorable for me than walking across a stage in front of thousands of strangers. Everyone was so kind and my parents sat beside me as I was welcomed along with the other talented graduates (whose grades were all better than mine, but after my very long battle with College Algebra, I am just thankful I finally finished). I know as I take the next step in life so many will be praying for me and guiding me. If you read my last graduation post a couple months back (“Fall Down Seven Times, Stand up Eighth Time”) you know I actually graduated in December. After months of confusion, I decided I would like to work with kids again. Provided everything goes through, I will be headed abroad to teach English as a second language. I am so thankful for all the well wishes as I start another journey. I thought I would share a poem written for me by one of the members of my church, Grace Alliance. It is just one example of the many words of encouragement, which touched me. Even though the miles may soon separate us, you will all be in my prayers and in my heart.

A quiet young lady has come our way

To Bless our lives each and every day.

She works with little children, oh so good.

We praise her, we praise her its understood.

May her life be blessed for work well done,

Perhaps she a child to the Son, she has led,

Or wiped a tear from one small face

Blessings be hers with truth and grace

We wish you well as you travel on life’s way

Success and happiness be yours always.

– David Wells

Below is a song, I would like to share with you. Michael W. Smith’s “Friends are friends forever.” I am thankful for the hundreds of eternal friends I have in this world. I am truly blessed. This is not my video. Thanks to Michael W. Smith and the fan who posted this video.

January 29, 2017. I did not teach abroad for another year. I remember the dissapointments and challenges of the coming year. I was the prodigal daughter. I went to Mississippi a boyfriend and didn’t come home for six months. Despite my diploma, I was forced to work fast food at minimum wage. I swallowed my pride and asked my parents to get me when I realized how far from the joy of grace I had fallen. Then, I went back to graduate school at Liberty in that spring and ended up taking a Tefl class for fun that would lead me to teach a Chinese student. I then felt lead to go and teach inChina. It was a rollercoaster of a year, really, but it was all part of the journey!

About Armed with Truth

Hello! My name is Kat. I currently teach English as a foreign language in China. I decided to leave my job in law enforcement about six months a go to pursue a career in teaching. I just finished a bachelors degree in criminal justice. I have also finished four semesters at Liberty University in my Masters of Human Services. I am hoping to work with humanitarian work/missions in Asia as soon as I pay off my loans. I also have dreams of being a children's book author, someday.
This entry was posted in Growing Pains, Life, The Will of God and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Graduation Reception

  1. boomiebol says:

    Congratulations!!!

Leave a Reply

