I can’t Sleep

This is post two on a series on emergency prayers. Sorry it was not up last week. I was having a wonderful week in D.C. With family. This week’s share is on the important issue of sleep. ๐Ÿ™‚

One of the teens from the youth group caught me sleeping during the “sunrise” – in Costa Rica. I wanted to enjoy the view, but my body had other things in mind.

I struggle a lot with insomnia. It is not a recent thing for me. I have had problems sleeping since I was about ten years old. I suppose it was at this age that I began to be brought down by the cares of this world. It did not bother me at that time. When I was much younger and I couldn’t sleep, I would get out my pen and write poetry and stories late into the night. I said that if I could not sleep, I had a greater purpose that night. Now, that I am older and have a busier life (such as getting up to go to work), I do not so easily welcome the nights without sleep. When I find myself plagued by insomnia, I get annoyed and fussy and sometimes even angry. I was sharing my frustrations recently with my friends on facebook, when a friend asked me if I had prayed. She said โ€œtalk to God and you will surely fall asleep.โ€ This should be the obvious response to any frustration, but at the moment I was too wrapped up in my self. That night about a month a go, I did fall asleep praying, and it was very refreshing. To fall asleep praying is like falling asleep in the arms of God. How much have I fallen away from this freedom. Perhaps there will still be times I have prayed and still can’t sleep, but perhaps on those nights I should return to my childish wanderings. If I can not sleep, perhaps God has a purpose for me that night whether it be to pray or to finish a task I have put off! I am reminded of when the prophet Samuel could not sleep as a child, because God was calling him to give him a word to share to the priest, Eli (1 Samuel 3). I should not be angry, when I can not sleep. I should get up and listen to the will of my Father! Of course so often what keeps me from sleeping is not the need to do something but the sin of worrying and fretting. This is why we can pray and give our worries to God.

Sometimes my sleep problems have forced me to resort to nasty tasting habits. ๐Ÿ˜›

Here is my Emergency Prayer share (not my work, from the

text of Emergency Prayers by Deborah Smith Pegues) for the week, โ€œI Can’t Sleepโ€.

โ€œFather, I thank You for Your promise to give rest to Your loved ones (Psalms 127:2). I ask you to shine Your light on the root cause of my sleeplessness. Whatever anxieties are preventing me from entering into a state of restorative slumber, I cast them all on You now as You have instructed for YOU care for me (1Peter 5:7).

Calm my racing mind. Help me be still and know that You are God (Psalm 46:10). I submit to Your command to refrain from worrying about anything and pray about everything. I bring my needs to You and thank You for all YOU have done. Your Word assures me that as I do this, I will experience Your peace, which is far more wonderful than the human mind can understand. Your peace will guard my heart and my mind. (Philippians 4:6-7).

By faith, I will lie down without fear or anxiety, and I will enjoy pleasant dreams (Proverbs 3:24). Yes, I will lie down in peace and sleep because YOU alone, O Lord, will keep me safe (Psalms 4:8). In the name of Jesus, I pray. Amen.โ€

Pegues, Deborah Smith. Emergency Prayers: [God’s Help in Your Time of Need]. Eugene, OR: Harvest House Pub., 2008.

Psalm 127:2

It is is in vain for you to rise up early, to sit up late, to eat the bread of sorrow; for so He gives his beloved sleep.

1 Peter 5:7

Casting all your cares upon Him for He cares for you.

Psalm 46:10

Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nation, I will be exalted in the earth!

Phillippians 4:6-7

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

Proverbs 3:24

When you lie down, you will not be afraid; when you lie down, your sleep will be sweet.

I am putting music from my favorite pianist, Paul Collier, with this post. His music has really helped me sleep and relax (and he also has inspiring music for anxiety, joy, concentration, and other moods). This one is one of my favorites, called the return of King Alpha. ๐Ÿ™‚ This is not my work, but the work of Mr. Paul Collier. Thanks for posting this wonderful piece.

About Armed with Truth

Hello! My name is Kat. I currently teach English as a foreign language in China. I decided to leave my job in law enforcement about six months a go to pursue a career in teaching. I just finished a bachelors degree in criminal justice. I have also finished four semesters at Liberty University in my Masters of Human Services. I am hoping to work with humanitarian work/missions in Asia as soon as I pay off my loans. I also have dreams of being a children's book author, someday.
This entry was posted in Life, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I can’t Sleep

  1. So very very true! I have also been awake at night sometimes, and ask the Lord what He would have me do, wondering what purpose there may be for me to be awake… I open my heart to prayer, as often that seems to be what is needed… I often feel the need to pray for others in those circumstances. I also experience anxieties sometimes as well- and prayer, giving your cares to God, helps so much. I have felt that “refreshing” feeling you spoke of.
    Sometimes I also feel the need to write poetry…

  2. boomiebol says:

    Thanks or stopping by my blog and likingone of the posts.

Leave a Reply

