Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening

Found this beautiful book illustrating Robert Frost''s poem at Ollie's Bargain Store

Found this beautiful book illustrating Robert Frost”s poem at Ollie’s Bargain Store

My good literature find this week was an illustrated version of Robert Frost’s poem, “Stopping by Woods on a Snowing Evening”. I have always loved the poem. This children’s book illustrated by Susan Jeffers will have your child loving one of America’s greatest poets from a young age. Susan Jeffers’ beautiful pictures made me appreciate one of my favorite poems even more. The illustrator’s pictures interpret the poem in a way that will have you and your child smiling and laughing. It will be one of my favorite coffee table books from now on!

Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening

BY ROBERT FROST

Whose woods these are I think I know.

His house is in the village though;

He will not see me stopping here

To watch his woods fill up with snow.

My little horse must think it queer

To stop without a farmhouse near

Between the woods and frozen lake

The darkest evening of the year.

He gives his harness bells a shake

To ask if there is some mistake.

The only other sound’s the sweep

Of easy wind and downy flake.

The woods are lovely, dark and deep.

But I have promises to keep,

And miles to go before I sleep,

And miles to go before I sleep.

It snowed yesterday for most of the day here in Virginia. I stopped by the woods on this snowing evening. I too wanted to stay, but like Mr. Frost, I had promises to keep!

"peek-a-boo"

“peek-a-boo”

 

winter weekend 2013 034 winter weekend 2013 037
About Armed with Truth

Hello! My name is Kat. I currently teach English as a foreign language in China. I decided to leave my job in law enforcement about six months a go to pursue a career in teaching. I just finished a bachelors degree in criminal justice. I have also finished four semesters at Liberty University in my Masters of Human Services. I am hoping to work with humanitarian work/missions in Asia as soon as I pay off my loans. I also have dreams of being a children's book author, someday.
This entry was posted in Literature, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

