The death and resurrection from an Artist’s View

Matthias Grünewald's small crucifixion

Matthias Grünewald’s small crucifixion

Originally, before I attended Easter Service, I planned to share some of my favorite religious artwork this Easter. I was so decided about my favorite art pieces that I am sharing a second post this Easter day! I took art history, when I was in my junior year of college Germany (I lived there almost 8 years). One of my favorite artists was Matthias Grünewald. He was a German renaissance painter of religious artwork, most well-known for his Isenheim altar piece. I wrote an extensive report on these pieces long a go. The altar piece is now in the Colmar Art museum in France. I regret I never was so close and never went to see it in person. Grünewald’s work was said to be somewhat grotesque in his realistic depictions of Jesus Christ, but it served as an inspiration for prayer and godliness as it stood in the center of the church. I hope it inspires you, too!

This is the cover of the altarpiece. This is what was seen by the congregation, except on holy days like Easter and Christmas or festivals, when it was opened.

This is the cover of the altarpiece. This is what was seen by the congregation, except on holy days like Easter and Christmas or festivals, when it was opened.

Isaiah 53:5  But he was pierced for our transgressions; he was crushed for our iniquities; upon him was the chastisement that brought us peace, and with his wounds we are healed

The opened view of the altarpiece. Shown at festivals and other special events.

The opened view of the altarpiece. Shown at festivals and other special events.

Luk 24:5 And as they were frightened and bowed their faces to the ground, the men said to them, “Why do you seek the living among the dead?
Luk 24:6 He is not here, but has risen. Remember how he told you, while he was still in Galilee,
Luk 24:7 that the Son of Man must be delivered into the hands of sinful men and be crucified and on the third day rise.”

Jeusgrunewald Jesushand Jesus side jesus feet1510MatthiasGrunewaldResurrection

About Armed with Truth

Hello! My name is Kat. I currently teach English as a foreign language in China. I decided to leave my job in law enforcement about six months a go to pursue a career in teaching. I just finished a bachelors degree in criminal justice. I have also finished four semesters at Liberty University in my Masters of Human Services. I am hoping to work with humanitarian work/missions in Asia as soon as I pay off my loans. I also have dreams of being a children's book author, someday.
This entry was posted in Art, Holidays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The death and resurrection from an Artist’s View

  1. Hi to every body, it’s my first visit of this blog; this web site carries amazing and actually fine stuff in support of visitors.

Leave a Reply

