Darlington Memories

Working behind scenes last year at the Nascar Darlington Raceway pit with one of the fire chiefs

Working behind scenes last year at the Nascar Darlington Raceway pit with one of the fire chief

A couple of hours a go, my dad and I watched on the big screen tv as Matt Kenseth won his third race of the 2013 Nascar raceway season at Darlington Raceway. I must admit I was a little disappointed that Kyle Busch did not win. He led 265 laps, but started to dwindle after a close call with Kasey Kahne with only 35 laps to go. Still, it is great to see Matt Kenseth doing so well this year after recently switching to a new sponsor. You will have to go to a news reporter to read more about tonight’s race (I am really not a news reporter. I think of my blog as a public journal), but I wanted to share a few thoughts as I reflect back on some past Nascar memories.

Nascar is not my favorite sport (that goes to Ultimate Fighting – I love UFC!), but I have a new-found respect for the sport after seeing what it takes to get a race going. I enjoyed the Darlington race three years a go in the stands with my father, but I never thought I would get to see the track from the inside standing right beside the Victory Circle. Last year, I worked behind the scenes at the track as a security guard. It was a gruelling week at Darlington honestly. Still  watching the race from the pits was an unforgettable experience (I can still feel my ears buzzing!) I worked at the raceway gate one night at the pit crews came in to set up, at the Darlington stock car museum a couple of days and after the race, I worked behind the scenes at the tv show, Speed’s “Victory Lane” handling the crowds. What an honor it was to watch these racers and their crews up close, who aim to finish the race at all costs! I guess I am thinking back tonight, because honestly I complain a lot about my job! Being an armed guard is not what I think of as my calling. Still, it has awarded me a few incredible experiences and allowed me to meet and protect so many people. As I think back at those moments last year where I worked such an event, I say may God give me strength to finish the race no matter what!

Hebrews 12:1

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a huge crowd of witnesses to the life of faith, let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily trips us up. And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us.

This commercial came on during the race. Loved it so I am sharing it, too!

About Armed with Truth

Hello! My name is Kat. I currently teach English as a foreign language in China. I decided to leave my job in law enforcement about six months a go to pursue a career in teaching. I just finished a bachelors degree in criminal justice. I have also finished four semesters at Liberty University in my Masters of Human Services. I am hoping to work with humanitarian work/missions in Asia as soon as I pay off my loans. I also have dreams of being a children's book author, someday.
This entry was posted in Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

