Thankful to be Teaching

A chalk drawing by some of my students on October 1st. The National Day of China.

A chalk drawing by some of my students on October 1st. The National Day of China.

Last you heard from me, I was in Shanghai. A few days later, I left for Northern China. One of my biggest shocks, when arriving in Northern China was to find just how restrictive the “Great firewall of China” is! I felt quite separated from the world, at first, since almost all social media is restricted in China. Finally though, I seem to have find a way around the wall thanks to a google proxy service.. 🙂 Anyway, I have been in the country of China for three months as of the 23rd of November. It has not been quite like I expected. I have good days and bad days. I would say I am still going through culural adjustment. Sometimes, little things like not being able to be understood at the market can really get me down. Several weeks a go, I cried over not being able to find deodorant and raisers (women do not need either in Northern China evidently).  I walked that day until I found myself at the church. I saw my vanity for what it was and realized that this year God was asking me to put away my vanity this coming year and just love my students. So, that is what I am doing. I am loving my students. It is not always easy being a teacher in China. I teach 22 classes and 1900 students every week. Each of my class sessions have 160-180 students. I often have to show tough love to my students because they lack discipline. Once, a few weeks a go I even lost face in front of a particularly bad class and cried in front of my students. Still, I wouldn’t trade this job for any other. Outside of class, I even often spend time with my students (maybe this is not something you can do so much in America!). I eat meals with them, exercise with them, and talk with them whenever I can. My students are my friends. I can not stay down for long with them around. One of my favorite recent memories was a couple weeks a go on Halloween. I was quite homesick that day since they do not celebrate Halloween in China. I got a knock on my door about 830 pm. There were a few hundred students outside my door (many of them with paper-masks) to wish me Happy Halloween! I almost cried tears of joy, because I was so happy to see my students! As Thanksgiving approaches, I do miss my family, but I am thankful this year to be in China. I am thankful for my students who are teaching me and more everyday!

With some students after class on Halloween. I taught in my costume that week!

                                             With some students after class on Halloween. I taught in my costume that week! It was fun!

 

About Armed with Truth

Hello! My name is Kat. I currently teach English as a foreign language in China. I decided to leave my job in law enforcement about six months a go to pursue a career in teaching. I just finished a bachelors degree in criminal justice. I have also finished four semesters at Liberty University in my Masters of Human Services. I am hoping to work with humanitarian work/missions in Asia as soon as I pay off my loans. I also have dreams of being a children's book author, someday.
This entry was posted in China and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

