Belated Happy Thanksgiving!

Thanksgiving Gift

My Thanksgiving gift from the school! Hope to see it in full bloom soon!

So, I hope everyone had a happy holiday back in America. I thought I would share an excerpt from my journal, yesterday. My well-wishes are a little late, because we are having internet issues on campus today. Happy Thanksgiving!

11/28/2013 10:00 A.M. somewhere in Northern China

It is Thanksgiving, but it does not feel much like it to me in China. I read an email from my father, and I had to step out of the room to shed a few tears, when I heard that my brother would also be home for Thanksgiving. Everyone will be there – but me! Still, I must keep reminding myself that God brought me here. My father asked me in his email to think about all the things that have happened in the last year that I have to be thankful for. So, I will think about these things!

I have a lot to be thankful for this year. I am in this strange land, but God has brought me out of my comfort zone and is transforming me in this incredible experience. I finally left the job in armed security (I have hated the last couple years), and am working abroad. I went back to Liberty in the spring of this year and successfully finished a semester of graduate school with a 4.o. I  also got my certification in teaching English as a foreign language, which enabled me to come to China. It has been a year of successes and new opportunities!

In the last year, my sister moved within a couple of hours of home so I was able to see her often before I left for America. So my siblings and my parents and I all lived within 500 miles of each other for the first time since we lived in Germany ten years ago. I can be thankful for good times with family.

A Thanksgiving many moons a go, when we were still in Germany! Mom is taking the photo.

A Thanksgiving many moons a go, when we were still in Germany! Mom is taking the photo.

Maybe our Thanksgiving meals are not always traditional, when I am home either. A Thanksgiving toast a few years a go with Krispy Kremes!

Maybe our Thanksgiving meals are not always traditional, when I am home either. A Thanksgiving toast a few years a go with Krispy Kremes!

I am healthier this year than I have been in over ten years. I had a scare with my health this summer, but the doctors gave me a clean bill of health. Now, I am eating healthy and getting healthy here in China. For the first time since my back injury in 2005, I am exercising daily without pain.  It actually feels great to be running again! I am running seven minute miles for the first time since my cross-country days of high school. So, I am thankful to be healthy.

I was asked to run a relay a couple months back in September! This started my determination to start running again! I am on my way to a healthier me!

I was asked to run a relay at the sports meet in September. This started my determination to start running again! I am on my way to a healthier me! I will be prepared for the next race!

I have had my struggles in the last year spiritually, but now I am in this land where I do not have the freedom to go to church. I am in this land where I must depend solely on my Savior.  I am thirst again so God is drawing me closer to himself in China. I have never been so aware of how much I need Him! So, I am learning and growing here in China.

There are churches here in China, but my school insists it is not safe to go to services alone...I often go, when it is empty, to pray.

There are churches here in China, but my school insists it is not safe to go to services alone…I often go, when it is empty, to pray.

I have had my financial struggles as well this year, especially while I was at school in the spring. But in China, I daily see the ways God provides for me. I have just enough from my stipend to pall all my bills. I have a beautiful little apartment provided for me by the school. I am able to eat three healthy meals for only a dollar or two a day. I am witnessing God’s provision like never before!

My favorite room in my apartment is of course my little kitchen!

My favorite room in my apartment is,of course, my little kitchen! I am learning to cook Chinese cuisine!

I miss my family and friends so much this Thanksgiving, but there are so many others, who are missing loved ones that have already passed on (and my heart goes out to them). Mine are all waiting for me back home and silently supporting me. Many of their prayers now cover me! So, I am blessed this year! So I have a lot to be thankful for this year!

This is the last page of my first journal in China. So ends the first chapter of my life in China. It has been beautiful though at times – bittersweet. I have miles to go before I sleep…

About Armed with Truth

Hello! My name is Kat. I currently teach English as a foreign language in China. I decided to leave my job in law enforcement about six months a go to pursue a career in teaching. I just finished a bachelors degree in criminal justice. I have also finished four semesters at Liberty University in my Masters of Human Services. I am hoping to work with humanitarian work/missions in Asia as soon as I pay off my loans. I also have dreams of being a children's book author, someday.
This entry was posted in Holidays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

