Sharing the love!

Courtesy of  Artist Light blogspot

Courtesy of Artist Light blogspot

I traveled 21 days straight during the winter holiday. Sometime, soon, I promise to take the time to tell you about my travels, but today is the start of a new semester. It is a time for new beginnings. This time, I began my semester with a message of love. We talked about Valentine’s Day, and I shared about the story of Father Valentine, and how he died because he believed in love, and that marriage was a gift from God.

Picture I used in class to tell my students this is the message that Valentine died sharing.

Picture I used in class to tell my students this is the message that Valentine died sharing.

 

The maturity level of teenagers seems to be a little different in China. I find their innocence and devotion to their school work quite refreshing compared to my high school days. Even in high school here in China, there are many students who act grossed out (Ewwwwww!), when you mention anything about romance or love, but I tried to share a message today that love is about more than romance and couples. Here is a cute little poem, I shared with my classes today!

LOVE IS . . .

by Greg Scelsa

Love is … a tender feeling,

Love is … a way of being,

Love is … just showing someone you care.

Love is … helping with the dishes,

Love is … feeding your pet fishes,

Love is … just giving from your heart. Love is so very simple,

It’s not a mystery.

When you treat those around you The very same way You want them to treat you.

Love is … your baby sister,

Love is … playing with her,

Love is … holding her when she cries. Love is … sharing your candy, Love is … being all that you can be, Love is … lending a helping hand When someone needs you.

Love is …

L-O-V-E

Love is …

For you and me.

Oh! Love is the greatest thing in the world.

About Armed with Truth

Hello! My name is Kat. I currently teach English as a foreign language in China. I decided to leave my job in law enforcement about six months a go to pursue a career in teaching. I just finished a bachelors degree in criminal justice. I have also finished four semesters at Liberty University in my Masters of Human Services. I am hoping to work with humanitarian work/missions in Asia as soon as I pay off my loans. I also have dreams of being a children's book author, someday.
This entry was posted in China, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

