Happy Mardi Gras!

Yes, I wore this to class! I call the pants my church pants! They have scenes from church windows. I am hoping to write a post about Chinese fashions soon!

Yes, I wore this to class! I call the pants my church pants! They have scenes from church windows. I am hoping to write a post about  crazy Chinese fashions soon!

I shared the magical holiday of Mardi Gras with my students this week. Some of them said to me, “This is the craziest holiday we have ever heard of!” I have actually have not been to a Mardi Gras Parade since I lived in Mississippi (not far from New Orleans) as a teenager. I imagine the events of Mardi Gras in New Orleans are quite crazy! But to me, it is celebrating the beginning of the Easter season: a time in which we remember what Christ has done for us. If you followed me last year, you know that I gave up meat for Lent. It was a huge challenge, but I actually have cut down a lot on meat products since then. This year, I have decided to give up fried foods and bread, because I have been over-indulging in both since I came to China. We will see how I survive without these staples of China!

So I indulged myself this Mardi Gras by making fried chicken this weekend. It was my first time making it, but I think it was really good!

So I indulged myself this Mardi Gras by making fried chicken this weekend. It was my first time making it, but I think it was really good!

Fried Chicken and breaded potatoes as a side. They also had a chickeny flavor! Obviously giving up meat for Lent last year, did not make me a vegetarian! This Southern girl loves her chicken!

Fried Chicken and breaded potatoes as a side. They also had a “chickeny” flavor! Obviously, giving up meat for Lent last year did not make me a vegetarian! This Southern girl loves her chicken!

My official Mardi Gras dinner was fries with fried tofu topped with roasted garlic cloves and fried green tea leaves (a specialty in this part of China). I really indulged! It was delicious! I will try a steamed version next time!

My official Mardi Gras dinner was fries with fried tofu topped with roasted garlic cloves and fried green tea leaves (a specialty in this part of China). I really indulged! It was delicious! I will try a steamed version next time!

 

About Armed with Truth

Hello! My name is Kat. I currently teach English as a foreign language in China. I decided to leave my job in law enforcement about six months a go to pursue a career in teaching. I just finished a bachelors degree in criminal justice. I have also finished four semesters at Liberty University in my Masters of Human Services. I am hoping to work with humanitarian work/missions in Asia as soon as I pay off my loans. I also have dreams of being a children's book author, someday.
This entry was posted in Holidays and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Mardi Gras!

  1. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    THE CHRISTIAN SIDE OF MARDI GRAS!!!

Leave a Reply

