English as She is Spoke

The original cover of Twain's book about the English language. Hee-Hee!

The original cover of Twain’s book about the English language. Hee-Hee!  Haw!

I know you have seen a lot of Twain this week, but he  has always been one of my favorite writers! I was so happy to feature him in my classes this week. Yesterday, I gave my students a lesson with English tips and advice from Twain. Here is some advice and English humor from one of the best American writers of all time.

I used this to talk to my students about the importance of "word choice". Choose your words wisely, when writing or speaking in English!

I used this to talk to my students about the importance of “word choice”. Choose your words wisely, when writing or speaking in English!

Many of my students do not bother to proof-read their writing. Used this to encourage them to re-read their writing before submission.

Many of my students do not bother to proof-read their writing. Used this to encourage them to re-read their writing before submission.

I often tell my students not to use very and a lot in their writing.

I often tell my students not to use very and a lot in their writing.

Always telling my students this! You can always tell, when they did their homework with a dictionary in hand. Sometimes, I will not even know the big words they use!

Always telling my students this! You can always tell, when they did their homework with a dictionary in hand. Sometimes, I will not even know the big words they use!

Don't procrastinate, and make sure you have really researched the material thoroughly!

To my students: Don’t procrastinate.  Make sure you have really researched the material thoroughly! Re-write your paper until it is BEYOND your satisfaction! Don’t just be satisfied, excel!

I screamed in class, yesterday! I really did! In three different way! Just trying to get Twain's point across to describe clearly what is happening!  I don't think my students will forget it! Thanks, Twain!

I screamed in class, yesterday! I really did (in three different “situations”).  I was just trying to get Twain’s point across:  to describe clearly what is happening! I don’t think my students will forget it! Thanks, Twain!

To my students: Don't use the same adjective over and over again in your writing.

To my students: Don’t use the same adjective over and over again in your writing. Don’t over-use adjectives, in general! (I am guilty of this, too actually! I LOVE ADJECTIVES!)

Be careful about comma placement. Choose wisely where you will place a comma. I had fun with this one, too! Shared some sentences with and without a comma. Sometimes, we add a pause in English to change the mood or meaning of a sentence.

Told my students to be careful about comma placement. Choose wisely where you will place a comma. I had fun with this one, too! Shared some sentences with and without a comma. Sometimes, we can add a pausing comma in English sentences to change the mood and even the meaning of a sentence.

This isn't really an English tip. I just used this one to tell my students to go the library! Gather wisdom! Obtain new knowledge!

This isn’t really an English tip. I just used this one to tell my students to go the library! Gather wisdom! Obtain new knowledge!

So, there it is. A full lesson on English advice, for my students, using quotes from Mark Twain. I think he would have made a good foreign English teacher!

 

About Armed with Truth

Hello! My name is Kat. I currently teach English as a foreign language in China. I decided to leave my job in law enforcement about six months a go to pursue a career in teaching. I just finished a bachelors degree in criminal justice. I have also finished four semesters at Liberty University in my Masters of Human Services. I am hoping to work with humanitarian work/missions in Asia as soon as I pay off my loans. I also have dreams of being a children's book author, someday.
This entry was posted in Literature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to English as She is Spoke

  1. J.R.Barker says:

    Bring her on and let her scream indeed.

Leave a Reply

