St. Patty Comes to China

Found on Pinterest

Found on Pinterest

Today, I introduced the holiday of St. Patrick’s Day to my students. They seemed to relate better to this holiday than they did to Mardi Gras (see earlier post from a couple of weeks a go). My students told me that the green-leaf clover is also considered lucky in China. It can be found in certain parts of China. Luck, blessings, and good fortune are very important parts of the Chinese culture as well. My students really seemed to enjoy the pictures, Irish blessings, and a video I shared with them of the Irish clog dancing (I use to love watching the Irish dancers at this time of year, when I lived in Germany). I hope my readers will enjoy them, too! Happy St. Patty’s Day!

day-irish-blessing-and2

Taught some motions with this blessing, too. It was fun!

irishblessingwh

Made an amusing illustration on the blackboard to go with this one! Sorry, I did not think to take a picture.

This one is my favorite!  Told my students to stand in a field of flowers to let the butterflies "light on their shoulders" next time they need some cheering up! :)

This one is my favorite Irish blessing, and I love the picture!  I told my students to stand in a field of flowers to let the butterflies “light on their shoulders” next time they need some cheering up! 🙂

I was so happy after the St. Patty's Parade in Midway, Georgia last year! Missing my family a little! (Man, my arms were fat! I have lost 30 pounds since this was taken)

                                               I was so happy after the St. Patty’s Parade in Midway, Georgia last year! Missing my family a little! 

About Armed with Truth

Hello! My name is Kat. I currently teach English as a foreign language in China. I decided to leave my job in law enforcement about six months a go to pursue a career in teaching. I just finished a bachelors degree in criminal justice. I have also finished four semesters at Liberty University in my Masters of Human Services. I am hoping to work with humanitarian work/missions in Asia as soon as I pay off my loans. I also have dreams of being a children's book author, someday.
This entry was posted in Holidays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

