Save the Last Dance for Daddy

Due to one health problem after another this past two months, I have not been able to blog. Today, seems like the perfect day to make my come back. It is Father’s day back in America. My mother sent me a picture today of me with my father before my senior prom 13 years a go, in Germany.

Senior Prom, 2001. My, I am getting older. Can't believe it was so long a go!

Senior Prom, 2001. My, I am getting older. Can’t believe it was so long a go!

As I look at this picture, I remember not only the prom, but od all the dances with my father.  Even at my senior prom, the last dance went to daddy. No matter who I went to a dance with or who my date was, I always saved the last dance for daddy. He would pick me up from the dance and dance with me in front of all my friends. Others might have been embarrassed to dance with their fathers at that tender age, but I was always proud of who my father was. I remember when I was 16, at my first dance at a new school I came alone without any friends. It was a bit of a depressing affair. Right on time, my father shows up to share that special dance with me. Other girls looked on jealously and told me later that I must have a special relationship with my father! I am not a good dancer, actually!  I laugh as I remember my father telling me to “relax and not be so stiff. I reminded him of dancing with a  broom or a pogo stick”, but the way I danced did not matter so much to me as the moment. It has been a while since I danced with my father, but my future husband may have to wait at times. I will always save the last song, the last dance for daddy! Happy Father’s Day Pop!

Dad and I at his 70th Birthday celebration in China in April! Despite that I sprained my knee, I think he had a great time in China!

Dad and I at his 70th Birthday celebration in China in April! Despite that I sprained my knee, I think he had a great time in China!

About Armed with Truth

Hello! My name is Kat. I currently teach English as a foreign language in China. I decided to leave my job in law enforcement about six months a go to pursue a career in teaching. I just finished a bachelors degree in criminal justice. I have also finished four semesters at Liberty University in my Masters of Human Services. I am hoping to work with humanitarian work/missions in Asia as soon as I pay off my loans. I also have dreams of being a children's book author, someday.
This entry was posted in Family, Growing Pains and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

